About Local 953

IBEW Local Union 953 has over 1,600 members in western Wisconsin, northern Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, and the UP of Michigan. Our goal is to represent all electrical workers in our jurisdiction.

View the benefits of belonging to a union. »

Join Today



International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local Union 953 received its charter on May 26, 1919.

IBEW Local 953 represents approximately 1,600 members comprised from Xcel Energy, Dairyland Power Cooperative, 14 distribution cooperatives, 12 municipalities, as well as line construction, tree trimming, manufacturing, CATV, and telephone companies .

Our objective today is the same as when the IBEW adopted our constitution more than 100 years ago.

To organize all workers in the entire electrical industry in the United States and Canada, including all those in public utilities and electrical manufacturing, into local unions.

The number one goal nonunion workers strive for is to make a better living and secure a better future for themselves and their families. We deliver this to our members through organization, education, and motivation. Organization was desperately needed when there was a widespread abuse of workers. It remains important today, even with legislation that protects the rights of workers. Union workers have a better future than nonunion workers.

Since 1891, organizing has been the cornerstone of IBEW's existence and is an important building block for our future. We will continue to focus on organizing every member of the electrical industry in our area, building upon the strong momentum established in recent years.


IBEW Local Union 953 Charter



Brady Weiss, Business Manager
Email »

Michael Mountin, Assistant Business Manager
Email »

Timothy Hemenway, Assistant Business Manager
Email »

Bandi Henke, Assistant Business Manager
Email »

Nick Webber, Organizer
Email »

Grace Malone, Accountant
Email »

Kaitlyn Primeau, Administrator Coordinator
Email »




Allan Kraft, President

Ryan Cesafsky, Vice President

Mitchell Barka, Recording Secretary

Michael Mitchell, Treasurer

Joseph Haley, Executive Board

Aaron Boos, Executive Board

Brad Honish, Executive Board

Kevin Helgeson, Executive Board

Cory Tomac, Executive Board